Top 10 Daily Iowa Newspapers by Circulation

Categories

Below, we’ve collected the top newspaper publications in Iowa, organized by city. Before browsing these top media outlets, read our guide to media outlets to brush up on your knowledge.

Des Moines, Iowa Area Newspapers

 

  1. Des Moines Register

    The Des Moines Register is published daily in Des Moines and the surrounding areas. It was first issued in 1849, and as of 2020, has a daily circulation of over 33,000 readers (56,000+ on Sundays). The Register has won a Pulitzer Prize for Public Service and has been nominated for a Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Writing and a GLAAD Media Award.

    Editor: Carol Hunter, chunter@registermedia.com

    Find contact information for other Des Moines Register editors, journalists, and columnists here.

  2. Ames Tribune

    The Ames Tribune is published Tuesday through Sunday and serves Ames, Iowa and the surrounding areas. It was founded in 1868 as The Intelligencer and in 1997, won the Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Writing.

    Editor: Michael Crumb, mcrumb@amestrib.com

    Find contact information for other Ames Tribune editors, journalists, and columnists here.

  3. The Ottumwa Courier

    The Ottumwa Courier was founded in 1848, just two years after Iowa became a state, and has been a daily newspaper since 1865. It’s published three days a week and releases digital-only editions on Wednesdays and Fridays. The Courier informs Wapello County and is Ottumwa’s oldest business.

    Editor: Kyle Ocker, kocker@ottumwacourier.com

    Find contact information for other Ottumwa Courier editors, journalists, and columnists here.

    Iowa City, Iowa Area Newspapers

  4. The Gazette

    The first issue of the Gazette newspaper was published in January 1883 as the Evening Gazette; it sold for 3¢. Today, it’s published daily in the Cedar Rapids and Iowa City metropolitan areas. The Gazette, formerly known as the Cedar Rapids Gazette, has a daily circulation of over 32,000 (35,000+ on Saturdays and 37,000+ on Sundays).

    Editor: Zack Kucharski, zack.kucharski@thegazette.com

    Find contact information for other Gazette editors, journalists, and columnists here.

  5. Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier

    The Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier is a daily newspaper published in the Waterloo and Cedar Valley areas. The first issue was published in November 1859; today, the Courier has a daily circulation of 14,500 (18,000+ on Sundays).

    Editor: Meta Hemenway-Forbes, meta.hemenway-forbes@wcfcourier.com

    Find contact information for other Waterloo-Cedar Falls Courier editors, journalists, and columnists here.

  6. Telegraph Herald

    The Telegraph Herald (locally referred to as the “TH”) is an employee-owned media company that serves over 113,000 weekly readers in print and online. Based in Dubuque, Iowa, the Telegraph Herald informs the tri-state area (Iowa, Wisconsin, and Illinois).

    Editor: Amy Gilligan, amy.gilligan@thmedia.com

    Find contact information for other Telegraph Herald editors, journalists, and columnists here.

  7. Quad-City Times

    The Quad-City Times is a daily newspaper based in Davenport, Iowa and published in the Quad Cities metropolitan area — including the Bettendorf and Scott County areas in Iowa, and Moline and Rock Island areas in Illinois. It has a daily circulation of 54,000 (70,000+ on Sundays).

    Editor: Matt Christensen, mchristensen@qctimes.com

    Find contact information for other Quad-City Times editors, journalists, and columnists here.

  8. Iowa City Press-Citizen

    The Iowa City Press-Citizen was formed with the merging of two newspapers — the Iowa State Press, a Democratic newspaper founded in 1860, and the Iowa City Citizen, a Republican newspaper founded in 1891. The Press-Citizen serves Johnson County and the surrounding areas. It has a daily circulation of over 14,000+ readers.

    Editor: Zach Thompson, zthompson@gannett.com

    Find contact information for other Iowa City Press-Citizen editors, journalists, and columnists here.

    Sioux Falls, Iowa Area Newspapers

  9. Sioux City Journal

    The Sioux City Journal was founded in 1864 and now serves Sioux City, Iowa and other communities in northwestern Iowa, Nebraska, and South Dakota. It has won numerous awards, including one of the 10 national “Newspapers That Do It Right” awards by Editor and Publisher in both 2009 and 2013.

    Editor: Bruce Miller, bmiller@siouxcityjournal.com

    Find contact information for other Sioux City Journal editors, journalists, and columnists here.

  10. The Daily Nonpareil

    Founded in 1857, The Daily Nonpareil is southwest Iowa’s largest newspaper. It serves Council Bluffs and the surrounding 10 counties.

    Editor: Courtney Brummer-Clark, courtney.brummer-clark@nonpareilonline.com

    Find contact information for other Daily Nonpareil editors, journalists, and columnists here.