Top 10 Connecticut Newspapers

Categories

Below, we’ve collected the top newspaper publications in Connecticut, organized by city. Before browsing these top media outlets, read our guide to media outlets to brush up on your knowledge.

Hartford, Connecticut Area Newspapers

      1. Hartford Courant

        Often hailed as America’s oldest continuously-published newspaper, the Hartford Courant was founded in 1764 and serves most of Connecticut north of New Haven and east of Waterbury. It has won multiple Pulitzer Prizes. The Courant has 859,000 total readers and ranks 6th in daily newspaper readership (4th on Sundays).

        Editor: Andrew Julien, ajulien@courant.com
        Find contact information for other Hartford Courant editors, journalists, and columnists here.

      2. Stamford Advocate(Stamford)

        The Stamford Advocate services the Stamford and surrounding areas. It was founded in 1829, and, along with the other Hearst-owned publications in this list, has a readership of over 250,000.

        Editor: Thomas Mellana, tmellana@greenwichtime.com
        Find contact information for other Stamford Advocate editors, journalists, and columnists here.

      3. Republican-American Newspaper

        The Republican-American is a family-owned newspaper based in Waterbury, Connecticut and serves over 35 communities in Waterbury, Litchfield County, and Naugatuck Valley. It was founded through the 1990 merger of the Waterbury American and Waterbury Republican and received a Pulitzer Prize in 1940.
        Publishing editor: Anne Karolyi, akarolyi@rep-am.com

        Find contact information for other Republican-American editors, journalists, and columnists here.

      4. Journal Inquirer

        The Journal Inquirer, formerly known as the Manchester Journal, is one of the youngest papers on this list. It was formed in 1968 and is the only newspaper founded in the last century to survive in the state of Connecticut. It’s a tabloid-sized newspaper and serves about 20 communities in the Manchester area.

        Editor: Kimberly Phillips, kphillips@journalinquirer.com

        Find contact information for other Journal Inquirer editors, journalists, and columnists . here.

      5. Record-Journal

        The Record-Journal is based in Meriden, Connecticut and serves the Meriden, Wallingford, Southington, Cheshire, and surrounding areas. It was founded in 1867 as The Weekly Visitor and has grown to a readership of thousands; in 2019, it acquired The Cheshire Herald. It’s publication website redesign won first place from the Local Media Association for Best Local Website in 2016.

        Editor: Ralph Tomaselli, rtomaselli@record-journal.com

        Find contact information for other Record-Journal editors, journalists, and columnists here.

      6. Connecticut Post

        Founded in 1883 and also owned by the Hearst Corporation, the Connecticut Post serves Bridgeport and the greater Fairfield County area. It has a weekday circulation of 53,866 (80,840 on Sundays).
        Editor: Claire Racine, cracine@hearstmediact.com

        Find contact information for other Republican-American editors, journalists, and columnists here.

      7. New Haven Register

        Since 1755, the New Haven Register (which became its name in 1812) has served about 20 communities in and around the New Haven area. It is also owned by the Hearst Corporation.
        Editor: Helen Bennett Harvey, helen.bennett@hearstmediact.com

        Find contact information for other Republican-American editors, journalists, and columnists here.

      8. Danbury News-Times

        The News-Times, also a Hearst paper, serves Danbury and the surrounding communities. The newspaper circulates about 30,000 papers per day.
        Editor: Dan Brechlin, dan.brechlin@hearstmediact.com

        Find contact information for other Republican-American editors, journalists, and columnists here.

      9. The Norwalk Hour

        The Norwalk Hour is published daily and serves the communities of Norwalk, Wilton, Westport, Weston, and Stamford. It was acquired by Hearst in 2016 and contributes to the eight daily and 20 weekly newspapers circulated by Hearst in Connecticut.
        Editor: Liana Teixeira, lteixeira@ctpost.com

        Find contact information for other Republican-American editors, journalists, and columnists here.

      10. The Day

        The Day, formerly known as the New London Day, is one of the last remaining fully-independent newspaper operating from a public trust. With a daily and Sunday readership of only about 100,000, it has won many awards, including two from the New England Press Association and the Horace Greeley Award twice. The Day has also been hailed as one of the top 100 newspapers in the country by the Columbia Journalism Review.
        Editor: Tim Cotter, t.cotter@theday.com

        Find contact information for other Republican-American editors, journalists, and columnists here.

Related Post

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *